Sacrament of First Communion

 

 

Sacramental Preparation is a function of the parish as they are celebrated as a parish community.  The Sacraments of First Reconciliation and First Eucharist are celebrated in the 2nd grade year.  Preparation involves the participation of the parent and child at weekly Mass, the monthly preparation gatherings, study of the sacramental resources and the child's attendance in Saint Rita day school or PSR.  Children are expected to have been baptized and completed 1st grade religious education to be eligible for the sacraments. 

Click here to register for Youth Sacramental Preparation

 

2nd Grade Preparation Gatherings for the Sacraments of Reconciliation and Eucharist 

All Gatherings are for parent and child.

For each session: (choose ONE) attend either on Tuesday or Thursday

 

Gathering  1          

Tuesday, September 14 - 6:00pm – 7:00pm

Thursday, September 16 - 6:00pm – 7:00pm

Gathering 2

 Tuesday, October 12 - 6:00pm – 7:00pm

Thursday, October 14 - 6:00pm – 7:00pm

Gathering 3

Tuesday, November 9 - 6:00pm – 7:00pm

Thursday, November 11 6:00pm – 7:00pm

Gathering 4

Thursday, December 9 - 6:00pm – 7:00pm

            (1 session this month)

Gathering 5

Tuesday, January 11 - 6:00pm – 7:00pm

Thursday, January 13 - 6:00pm – 7:00pm

First Reconcilation (REQUIRED)

Tuesday, January 25 - 6:00pm – 7:00pm

Thursday, January 27 -  6:00pm – 7:00 pm

Gathering 6

Tuesday, February 8 - 6:00pm – 7:00pm

Thursday, February 10 - 6:00pm – 7:00 pm

Gathering 7

Tuesday, March 8 - 6:00pm – 7:00pm

Thursday, March 10 - 6:00pm – 7:00pm

Gathering 8

Tuesday, April 5 - 6:00pm – 7:00pm

Thursday, April 7 - 6:00pm – 7:00pm

 

Journey With Jesus Retreats

PSR                           Tuesday        May 10           6:00pm – 8:00pm

St. Rita School         Tuesday        May 17           10:00am – 12:00pm

           

Communion Practices

Large Group:           Thursday, May 5 - 6:00pm – 7:00pm

Small Group:          Thursday, May 12 - 6:00pm -  7:00pm

 

Second Grade First Communion Session: Jesus and Sin Demonstration

 Click here to see the demonstration

Click here to read about the Examination of Conscience


How to Receive Communion

       Eucharist: What we believe

To discuss any issue concerning First Communion Preparation please contact:

 
Kelly Foraker
Director of Religious Education
440-248-1350, ext. 121
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.